Skip to main content

Our Mission

Working in partnership with parents, students, teachers and administrators; our mission is to provide a comprehensive counseling program that attends to the needs of all students. We support students through responsive and developmental services such as personal and social counseling, academic guidance and support, career exploration, college planning, and student and family advocacy.

Our Role

Simi Valley High School students are served by four full-time counselors. The Counseling Team is an integral and vital component in the development of the academic and personal goals of all students. We plan, implement and evaluate a counseling program that includes academic, career, personal and social development for all students. We work with parents, teachers and staff to advocate for high academic achievement and appropriate social development for each student.

Please click on this link to learn more about the role of School Counselors and watch the short video produced by the American School Counselor Association:  Who Are School Counselors? 

Counseling

SVHS Counseling
Counseling Services "While We Are At Home" COVID-19 Info and Resources

This is a very strange and unusual time in the history of our world, and it has created a lot of uncertainty, particularly regarding school.  During this time, we would like to assure you that we are doing our very best to adapt to this crisis and serve all of our students.  It will take some time and require a lot of flexibility, patience, and understanding, but we will all get through this!  So, please feel encouraged and do your best to remain positive.

Counselors are working remotely from home every day and responding to emails intermittently throughout the work day.  In addition, we will be providing Zoom Meetings for students each week, by grade level for general support and Q&A.  These sessions will be offered on Tuesdays at 10:00 am and Thursdays at 1:00 pm.  We will send out emails directly to students in the scheduled grade level for that session with instructions on how to connect and the topics we will cover.  Initially, we are serving to provide general support to help through this unusual time, but eventually, we will also hope to offer specific webinar-type meetings for our typical Counseling Guidance Lessons (which will cover topics like College Planning & Admissions, Understanding Your Transcript, Creating a 4-year plan, Effective Study Skills, Stress Management, etc.)   

At this point, you should be connecting with your teachers as guided by our Distance Learning Block Schedule, through email/Google Classroom, etc.  If you are also enrolled in classes through the ROP/CEC program, Monte Vista, or Simi Institute, teachers from those programs are reaching out directly to students and families as well.  If you are currently a Dual Enrollment student with Moorpark College, they are providing their own alerts here, but please be advised that all the college courses are still in session (online), so please don't fall behind and remain in contact with your professors there as well.

Please know that there are many available resources at your disposal throughout our community.  We have listed some of those below for you, if needed, and we encourage students to seek out these supports with your parents/guardians.  

Local Resources:

The dinner schedule at local food pantries is sent out by the district and can be emailed to you as needed.  

Contact Us

Counselors:
A-D: Ila Laguercia (ila.laguercia@simivalleyusd.org)
E-K & ELD: Lana Wastell (lana.wastell@simivalleyusd.org
L-Q: Christopher Schurer (christopher.schurer@simivalleyusd.org)
R-Z: Dr. Loren Dittmar (loren.dittmar@simivalleyusd.org)


Front Desk:
Registrar: Beth Hankins (beth.hankins@simivalleyusd.org
Secretary: Cathy Alfano (cathy.alfano@simivalleyusd.org)
Secretary: Dalila Van Boven (dalila.vanboven@simivalleyusd.org)

Counseling Office: (805) 577-1400 , Then press 2
Counseling Fax: (805) 520-6135 


Counselor Office Hours for Student Drop-In
Before School (7:30 a.m. to 7:55 a.m.)
During Student Lunch
After School

If your counselor is unavailable when you drop in, please use the Chromebooks at the front desk to email your counselor, and we will do our best to connect with you as quickly as possible, either by email or by sending you a pass for an appointment.

Additional Counseling Programs & Support:

College & Career Center
Jennifer Gast (jennifer.gast@simivalleyusd.org)

School Psychologist: (for Special Education Services and Evaluation)
Jake Goodrich (jake.goodrich@simivalleyusd.org)

For detailed information regarding Special Education (IEP) and Section 504, please click here for the
SVUSD Office of Student Support Services website.  

Mrs. Laguercia
 (A-D)

Email Me

Mrs. Wastell
(E-K)

Email me

Mr. Schurer
 (L-Q)

Email me

Dr. Dittmar
(R-Z)

Email Me

 


Ila

Lana Chris Loren

Favorite Starbucks Drink:

Chai Tea Latte

Favorite Starbucks Drink:

Americano w/2 pumps
White Mocha

Favorite Starbucks Drink:

Skinny Mocha Latte

My Bio